Entonces27’s Weblog

Bible truth or Myth?

Posted in Calendar by entonces27 on June 4, 2009

It seems to me that any human beling cam claim that he or she knows the truth depending on what subject or object of truth he or she deems to be personable on. Vague as it may be, let us consider what truth means. In http://www.esoriano.wordpress.com you can read articles regarding Truth but somehow others don’t trust the TruthCaster of these end times, so perhaps I will also share what “truth” means lexicographically:  http://dictionary.die.net/truth says

Truth \Truth\, n.; pl. Truths. [OE. treuthe, trouthe, treowpe,AS. tre['o]w?. 
See True; cf. Troth, Betroth.]
   1. The quality or being true; as: (a) Conformity to fact or reality; exact accordance with
          that which is, or has been; or shall be. (b) Conformity to rule; exactness; 
          close correspondence with an example, mood, object of imitation, or the like.
          (c) Fidelity; constancy; steadfastness; faithfulness.(d) The practice of speaking 
          what is true; freedom from falsehood; veracity.
   2. That which is true or certain concerning any matter or subject, or generally on all subjects; 
      real state of things; fact; verity; reality.
   3. A true thing; a verified fact; a true statement or proposition; an established principle, fixed law, or the like; as, the great truths of morals.
   4. Righteousness; true religion.
Gen 24:27 And he said, Blessed be the LORD God of my master Abraham, who hath not left destitute my master of his mercy and his truth: I being in the way, the LORD led me to the house of my master’s brethren.
Gen 42:11 We are all one man’s sons; we are true men, thy servants are no spies.
Jdg 9:15 And the bramble said unto the trees, If in truth ye anoint me king over you, then come and put your trust in my shadow: and if not, let fire come out of the bramble, and devour the cedars of Lebanon.

Based on the italicized or emphazised words above, we can see the interrelationship of truth, true, and trust. They have the same bearing on the meaning as quoted from webster.

1. Is the Bible conforming to fact or reality? Yes, it can be read by all and anyone can interpret it or use it in whatever manner they want it to be used, may it be for good or for bad.

2. Does the Bible tell the real state of things? Of course, it does talk about any thing under the sun. Can you name things that the Bible never tell? Of course you will name the inventions of man, well the Bible also states inventions of men in a prophetic manner.

3. Has the Bible established a principle or fixed a law? Yes, certainly. What do you understand of a principle of man? Ask the man who has that principle and if that principle does not jibe with yours, let yourself realize that “you cannot please everybody.”

4. Has the Bible also stated about “true religion”? Of course, just read James 1:27 of the KJV of the Bible. Can man do good without God? Certainly not. Why? Common sense says so.  Which comes first, good or god?

Pardon me please, but it’s up to you to whom are you going to trust, your own goodness or God’s.

http://www.blueletterbible.org/search/lexiconc.cfm?Criteria=truth&x=0&y=0&st=any tells us that:

H529 ’emuwn ā·mün’ faithful, truth, faith
H530 ’emuwnah em·ü·nä’ faithfulness, truth, faithfully, office, faithful, faith, stability, steady, truly, verily
H544 ‘omen oh·men’ truth
H551 ‘omnam om·näm’ truth, indeed, true, no doubt, surely, indeed
H571 ’emeth eh’·meth truth, true, truly, right, faithfully, assured, assuredly, establishment, faithful, sure, verity
H3321 yĕtseb (Aramaic) yets·āb’ truth
H3330 yatstsiyb (Aramaic) yats·tsēb’ true, truth, certainty, certain
H7187 qĕshowt (Aramaic) kesh·ote’ truth
H7189 qoshet ko’·shet certainty, truth

In an article that I’ve found in the internet, I came across a theme “Is the Bible truth or myth?” , I am saddened because the title is confusing.

According to http://www.allabouttruth.org/bible-truth-or-myth-faq.htm , “Is the Bible truth or myth? A truth-seeker asks this question about most everything in life, for their desire is for truth in all things. So, is the Bible truth, or is it a myth?”

Well, I sought a specific truth before and I’d found it in the arena of religious truth. It’s true that many use the Bible for revealing their personal motives but human beings have a built-in truth mechanisms which can decipher truth from myth or fiction. One of them, of course, yours truly, Enton, distinguished that in the Bible as I trusted that God enabled Brother Eli to tell all truths of Christ to the Christians, there are different types of truths. The truth of the matter is that there are literal, semi-literal and spiritual truths (the very deep truths a doubter and a self-proclaimed religious fanatic would never be able to accept as potential truths). Let us continue to quote.

“The question puts me in mind of a conversation with my daughter last week. With great enthusiasm and lingering awe, she described an acrobatic presentation she had just returned from attending. As she tried to put into words what she experienced, what her eyes had seen these Beijing acrobats do, my mind kept crying, “No way! Not possible!”

Outside my human experience, my mind was having a difficult time laying hold of the ‘truth’ being related to me by my daughter’s voice. But I knew my daughter, and I knew she would not lie to me. Later, she sent pictures which verified the truth of her words, allowing me to enter her experience in part. What my mind had wanted to label myth now became a shared truth regardless of how unbelievable it seemed when I first heard. “

Remember that optical illusions are truth because they are visible;nonetheless they are false because they don’t contain usable and profitable truths. In fact, many unsual experiences captured by the very video cameras of men will not tell “truth”, they just insist that they are part of “truth” of man. And what is man who has the built-in truth to know what truth to trust and not? Fiction is true to the best of those who believe them. Is there a law summoning us to shun the fake? So, it’s your personal choice whether to collect those fake experiences as “truth”. It’s true that there are inexplicable phenomena. No doubt but would you include these seeming truths to your daily usable and profitable truths? I wonder. Let’s continue.

“When I think about the world we live in today, I realize how impossible it would be for my great-great-great-grandparents to comprehend it. Were I able to go back and share my life with them, they would think me the world’s wildest storyteller with an imagination out of control. Their love for me might prevent them from labeling me a liar, but I imagine they would seriously question my stability. “

The writer of the quoted article seemed to miscomprehend the stability of human mind. There are human beings who don’t really want to lie and want to retain their credibility for the est of their lives but can you control your own physiological mixed-ups? Human beings thinks changeably. We always end up of having to choose which to let go or which to take.


“My great-grandmother came to California in a covered wagon. Because she lived to be 105, she experienced a birth of technology that allowed her to watch a man walk on the moon. But her grandparents, were I to be able to visit them through time, would have nothing within their experience that would enable them to capture my words as truth. They would label it myth or fabrication, unless the strength and reliability of our relationship had taught them they could believe me, even when they couldn’t understand me. “

See! You presume that you can convince others to put their trust on you but the otherwise may be in operation and you would end up happy as you see the people around you applauding your words although in their inner self they don’t accept your words as their supreme truth but only as slight truth.

Blah…Blah… Blah of his writing. You read it for yourself.

So what’s the point? Had Jesus Christ walked in the sea?

Mat 14:26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.

Mat 14:29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

That’s the truth for me and to other christians. It may be a miracle as you may have described it and perhaps or yes to any of you but one thing is for sure. The Bible contains truths.

Very truly yours,

Entonces27

Leave a Reply

